Throughout the Second World War, Portadown, Co. Armagh underwent many changes seeing the building of defensive structures along the line of the Bann River and the arrival of troops from Britain, American and even Belgium.
The town lies on the banks of the River Bann in the Armagh, Banbridge, and Craigavon Borough Council area. It is part of Craigavon along with Lurgan. The town was once known as The Hub Of The North. At 24 miles or 39km south-west of Belfast, it has links with the Northern Irish capital via the M1 motorway and a direct railway line. With transport via railways and the River Bann, it became an important centre for textile and linen production.
The following American forces were based in the Co. Armagh town between 1943 and 1944. If you have more information on exact bases, please get in touch.
|Start Date||End Date||Unit|
|18/10/1943||22/12/1943||Company K, 467th Quartermaster Truck Regiment|
|22/12/1943||02/04/1944||3630th Quartermaster Truck Company (Heavy)|
|07/11/1943||06/06/1944||55th Finance Disbursing Section|
|11/1943||06/1944||19th Special Services Company (Minus)|
|24/12/1943||28/01/1944||Headquarters and Headquarters Detachment, 152nd Quartermaster Battalion (Mobile)|
|05/04/1944||06/05/1944||136th Quartermaster Truck Company (Nebraska National Guard)|
Places of Interest
The following places will be of interest to anyone wishing to explore more of the town's World War Two heritage.