Gilford is a village in Co. Down, Northern Ireland. The village lies on the banks of the River Bann in the Armagh, Banbridge, and Craigavon Borough Council area. The name derives from 'Magill's Ford'.
Although a small village, Gilford boasts a castle dating to 1865. The castle and surrounding areas were home to many troops during World War Two.
American Forces in Gilford
The following American forces were based in the village of Gilford, Co. Down between 1943 and 1944. If you have more information on exact bases, please get in touch.
|Start Date||End Date||Units|
|18/10/1943||16/06/1944||115th Chemical Processing Company|
Places of Interest
The following places will be of interest to anyone wishing to explore more of Gilford's World War Two heritage.
Elmfield Prisoner of War Camp, Gilford, Co. Down
The polo fields and grounds of a large stately home in Gilford, Co. Down became Elmfield prisoner of war camp in 1945. Around 1,800 German troops were held.
Gilford Castle, Gilford, Co. Down
In 1945, troops of the 4th (Steenstraete) Infantry Brigade of the Belgian Army occupied the grounds of Gilford Castle as they reformed in Northern Ireland.
Gilford War Memorial, Mill Street, Gilford, Co. Down
Gilford War Memorial stands at a prominent junction in the rural Co. Down town. It commemorates the dead of both World Wars including 22 from World War Two.
Hill Street, Gilford, Co. Down
Nothing remains of old Hill Street in Gilford, Co. Down. During the 19th century, it was home to hundreds of millworkers. Belgian troops visited in 1945.
Kernan Lough Search Battery, Gilford, Co. Down
Kernan Lough is a popular fishing spot near Gilford in Co. Down but in the early 1940s, it was home to a Searchlight Battery Unit of the Ulster Home Guard.